Yum Yum (The Clue Is In The Title)

img_1123

After several days filled with pure undiluted skippity hoppity joy, last week the empire struck back and my arch nemesis ‘Darth Real Life’ returned to the fore. Suddenly I was in a world of necessary, dull as ditch water, irksomeness. Life’s little tasks called, dentist appointments, internet providers, family occasions. Good lord I forgot the mountain of dirty dishes!  I’m not sure how it happened, but at some point it appears that society revoked my child status and stuck a grown up badge on me. I won’t lie, it’s been downhill ever since. Returning to the particularity of my troubles, suddenly, within this maelstrom of the mundane, I sensed a brief opening in the force, a teeny tiny patch of that rare commodity, free time! Thus at lunchtime today, I decided to take it easy with a brilliant meal at one of my favourite restaurants and so restore balance to the force.

img_1139

Yum Yum is a Thai restaurant located on Stoke Newington High Street and its simply goodness I tell ya.  Located in a gorgeous Georgian house the environment is low lit and delightfully mellow. It serves nutritious and delicious food that always proves uplifting. They also do magnificent cocktails, but I swear I didn’t indulge on a weekday, even if they are purely medicinal. The staff are the most remarkable feature of this restaurant, wonderfully unobtrusive and yet simultaneously such, cheerful, charming, caring, people. I spent a little over thirty minutes here today and without fail Yum Yum worked its magic. I left feeling most calm and relaxed. I have no doubt that if this restaurant was located in Shoreditch it would be better known and queued out the door. If you ever get the chance to go, don’t hesitate, I cannot recommend this place highly enough. It is an absolute delight.

img_1148

6 thoughts on “Yum Yum (The Clue Is In The Title)”

  1. Thai food is one of my favorites! I go every other week to a local Thai place near me and I can never wait to go! Thai Tea is MY FAVORITE and I love their Thai salad. You should subscribe to me on Instagram, I post those food shots all the time, we can eat a Thai lunch together a thousand miles apart! lol! I so want to try this place now =D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not on Instagram at the moment, but hope to be in the near future with a little web comic. The moment I join I’ll be sure to subscribe. (I just need to get over my perfectionist tendencies).

      As for Thai Tea, I have to agree, it really is the best!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

